Quizzing with Derek O Brien at the Landmark Quiz 2006

Today i had the opportunity to be at the Landmark Independance day Quiz (Which is an yearly affair for Chennaiites). As always the best (landmark) always brings the best (Derek). And the event was awesome. The venue was a sellout even before it opened doors and the crowd was totally inert with energy. Some of the best young minds and youth were there. Who says that today’s children are couch potatos ? All the schools had representations and they were competing (giving a the oldies a run for the money) pretty well. There was Vikram Chandra releasing his latest book from the Penguin Publishers. The star of the event was totally Derek. His quizzing histronics had already impressed many of us at BQC (Bournvita Quiz Contest) but to see him quizing and interact with him in person is taking it to a different level.

As always quizzing was great, teams were great, questions were out of the world, answers were equally great. (Just when you thought that no way anyone can guess the answer there is someone giving it out and you feel the punch). People like me feel how much we missed such opportunities at our school days. Eventhough i had a fair amount of quizzing in my school days winning at district levels and all. Those days our preparations were based on CSR (Competition Success Review) and we used to be totally hung ho on it. Then cam the era of Entrance Exams based on cut off and book knowledge thus the dip in GK of students. But today you see the shimmer of hope that there are people who still have the thirst for knowledge and the crowd by itself was the proof of it. End of the today each of us took home some cherished moments and i wouldnt forget this for many years to come. You rock Chennai and Keep up the good work Derek O Brien!


13 thoughts on “Quizzing with Derek O Brien at the Landmark Quiz 2006

  1. Dear Derek,

    I have been watching your quiz contests for many years. I thoroughly enjoyed every contest until last year.

    However, I was extremely disappointed with the ‘Confidence Champion’ that ended today. I have no doubt that the best person didn’t win the contest. It is a shame even India’s “Confidence Champion” is chosen through popular vote. I thought only Z-TV and Sony TV’s filmi stuff is done through SMS. I know that Channels and organizers make tons of money through SMS. But you can’t associate with something which demoralizes bright kids. The Indore girl lost to the B’lore boy in the eyes of the judges. Biased and unqualified public is asked to choose the ‘confidence champion’. What a shame? I see an increased tendency of bias against the non-Hindi participants. It also happened in Z-TV and Sony TV contests. It was shameless on the part of Alka Yagnik to expect a B’lore boy, who spent 12 years outside India to speak chaste Hindi. Can she speak a non-Hindi language of India?

    Please change the format so that people like me can continue to watch your contests.

    Regards,

    Rama Kumar
    Singapore

  2. Well, the quiz finals was indeed very good and entertaining, however, I do have a not-so-good- opinion about the prelims. While I do run the risk of appearing like the fox and sour grapes as I didnt qualify for the finals, I felt that the entire prelims round was mostly based on BORING TRIVIA and not good, intelligent, workable quizzing. I mean, the very first questions talks about how a certain vegetable should be cut. Turns out the vegetable is a carrot, and I dont think anyone would have been any more or any less thrilled if Derek had mentioned that the answer was a brinjal or turnip or radish!!!! And the question on the Shinto Shrine? Very BORING, Mr. O’Brian!

    Looking forward to a better set of questions for the preliminary round next year.

    And btw, the prelims of the Odyssey quiz held last year simply rocked! So did the finals, compared to the Landmark quiz.

  3. Hi Mr. Derek,

    I read that you run a programme for enhancing the IQ level of kids.
    I am interested in the programme details.

    Best Regards

    Anup Mohnani
    98717 95507

  4. hi mr. derek

    i am a great lover of you and your books
    i want to quiz with you a day
    and i also want you to check my IQ

  5. Dear Derek,

    I have been watching your quiz contests for many years. I thoroughly enjoyed every contest until last year.

    However, I was extremely disappointed with the ‘Confidence Champion’ that ended today. I have no doubt that the best person didn’t win the contest. It is a shame even India’s “Confidence Champion” is chosen through popular vote. I thought only Z-TV and Sony TV’s filmi stuff is done through SMS. I know that Channels and organizers make tons of money through SMS. But you can’t associate with something which demoralizes bright kids. The Indore girl lost to the B’lore boy in the eyes of the judges. Biased and unqualified public is asked to choose the ‘confidence champion’. What a shame? I see an increased tendency of bias against the non-Hindi participants. It also happened in Z-TV and Sony TV contests. It was shameless on the part of Alka Yagnik to expect a B’lore boy, who spent 12 years outside India to speak chaste Hindi. Can she speak a non-Hindi language of India?

    Please change the format so that people like me can continue to watch your contests.

    Regards,

    Rama Kumar

  6. helllo mr.derek,
    i’m a very big fan of yours and i’ve bought several books of yours in our school too ,we follow your books i used to watch the bournvita quiz competition but now i rarely get time……………. all d best n i would surely like to quiz with u one day!!!!!

  7. Sir,

    My daughter is studying in Class – 3 in CBSC Board. She wants to appear
    in International Olympiad Competition. So I need some guidelines from
    your side & send me the relevant question & answer regarding science,
    maths & english.

    I am confident about your assistance. My poastal address :: 0-118,
    Fathepur 2nd Lane, Appartment Name :”Roudri”, Garden Reac, Flat No. E-2,
    Kolkata – 700024. Mobile No.9051258650

    Thanks & Regards,

    Rajkumar

    RAJKUMAR KHAN

  8. Sir,

    My daughter is studying in Class – 3 in CBSC Board. She wants to appear
    in International Olympiad Competition. So I need some guidelines from
    your side & send me the relevant question & answer regarding science,
    maths & english.

    I am confident about your assistance. My poastal address :: 0-118,
    Fathepur 2nd Lane, Appartment Name :”Roudri”, Garden Reac, Flat No. E-2,
    Kolkata – 700024. Mobile No.9051258650

    Thanks & Regards,

    Rajkumar

  9. Sir,
    I am a die hard quizzer since school days.I have conducted a few quiz competitions till now and they have been quite successfull.I need a bigger platform to showcase my passion for quizzing.Plese give me an opportunity to be associated with your company.I would love to work with you.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Amit.U.Naik

Leave a Reply

